International Exchange Program: Partner Universities & Procedures

International Exchange Program: Partner Universities & Procedures

Study at 69 universities in 23 countries while remaining enrolled at ICU.

Through agreements concluded with 69 universities in 23 countries (as of June 30, 2015), ICU students can study for one year at out partner institutions. Under the same agreements, ICU also accepts students from those universities to study at ICU. Approximately 150 places available for study abroad and ICU expects that around one in four students will take part in the program.

Fruitful study abroad involves taking the same classes in specialized subjects as local university students, and for that reason it is necessary to have the appropriate level of English proficiency. Consequently, the usual procedure for students is to apply themselves properly to the English Liberal Arts (ELA) program until their second year and commence their study abroad in the autumn semester of their third year.

Students taking part in this exchange program remain enrolled at ICU while they study at the overseas university for one year (three ICU terms). As a general rule, students pay regular ICU tuition fees but are exempt from fees at the university abroad.

Other expenses are borne by the student, and the costs required for such studies vary with the particular destination. Credits earned at such institutions, a maximum of 40 credits, are recognized as part of the credit unit requirements for graduation from ICU. As a result, it is possible to study abroad and still graduate after four years.

(list of schools in the agreement; the process of studying abroad)

International exchange program universities


・University of Alberta
・University of Windsor
・The University of British Columbia

United States

・University of California
-Los Angeles
-San Diego
-Santa Barbara
-Santa Cruz
・Duke University
・Georgetown University
・Grand Valley State University
・Guilford College
・Haverford College
・University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
・University of Massachusetts at Amherst
・Middlebury College
・The College of Wooster
・The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
・The Ohio State University
・University of Pennsylvania
・Pomona College
・University at Buffalo The State University of New York
・Rutgers University
・The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
・Washington and Lee University
・Washington State University


・Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile


・University of Iceland


・Cardiff University
・The University of East Anglia
・The University of Edinburgh
・The University of Essex
・The University of Leeds
・The London School of Economics and Political Science
・University College London
・Newcastle University
・The University of Sheffeld
・The University of Sussex
・The School of Oriental and African Studies,
University of London


・Universite' Paris Diderot
・University of Toulouse II - Jean Jaurès


・Free University of Berlin
・University of Munster


・Universite' Libre de Bruxelles


・Maastricht University
・Tilburg University


・University of Aarhus


・Goteborg University
・Linnaeus University


・University of Tampere


・Vytautas Magnus University

Russian Federation

・The Moscow State Institute of International Relations

China/Hong Kong

・Nanjing University
・Nanjing Normal University
・Chung Chi College, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
・The University of Hong Kong
・Lingnan University


・Lady Doak College
・Union Christian College


・Petra Christian University


・Ewha Womans University
・Korea University
・Yonsei University


・Tunghai University


・Mahidol University
・Thammasat University


・Ateneo de Manila University
・University of the Philippines
・Silliman University


・University of Queensland
・Queensland University of Technology
・The University of Sydney

New Zealand

・The University of Waikato

* In addition, there are exchange programs with ACUCA (Association of Christian Universities and Colleges in Asia), which was established for mutual cooperation among Christian institutions of higher education.

Process for studying abroad (schedule may change depending on the host university)

Second yearAutumn semesterMid-SeptemberInformation sessions for students wanting to study abroad
Late September Students who have studied abroad relate their experience
Mid-October Application submission
Mid-November Document screening (e.g., TOEFL or other scores, recent grades, English essay on purpose of studying abroad, etc.)
Autumn break Late November Interview (only for those who pass the document screening)
Winter semester Early December Successful candidates announced
Mid-JanuaryLate FebruaryEarly March Participation pledge submitted; transfer of participation
application fee
Application form and other necessary documents sent to host university
1st orientation
Third year Autumn semester April to late Notification of outcome received from host university (application for visa and dormitory, travel preparations);
Late June 2nd orientation
Summer break Travel to host university
Spring semester Classes begin at host university
Fourth year Summer break Return
Autumn semester Credits acquired at host university incorporated at ICU, where normal classes resume
Winter semester Submission of graduation thesis

* It is possible to participate in exchange programs after the fourth year; however, that would affect the time of graduation.