University Consortium

University Consortium

ICU works cooperatively with other universities in Japan with the aim of further promoting education and research.

Tama Academic Consortium (TAC)

The Tama Academic Consortium was inaugurated in 1995 and currently comprises six universities: Kunitachi College of Music, Musashino Art University, Tokyo Keizai University, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Tsuda College, and ICU. The purpose of the TAC is to explore ways to achieving mutual cooperation in education and research among the six universities. This arrangement provides students access to libraries in four other universities, as well as allowing students to take courses at these four universities.

EU Institute in Japan 一 Tokyo Consortium

In April 2004, ICU formed a consortium for the EU Institute in Japan (EUIJ) with Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, and Tsuda College, Funded mainly by the European Commission, the Institute promotes understanding of the EU in Japan by enhancing and developing research and educational activities about the EU, as well as by providing its latest accurate and comprehensive information. Its outreach activities include international symposia, business seminars, and open lectures. Students are awarded credits for taking EUIJ courses at any of the four universities within the consortium.

Tokyo University of Foreign Studies

In April 2009 the ICU and Tokyo University of Foreign Studies concluded a written statement outlining the fundamental agreement for mutual cooperation in education and research. From a global perspective, we aim to deepen exchange and further develop relations between these two universities that share common goals but at the same time possess unique strengths. In addition to the existing system by which TUFS and ICU students have been able to take graduate school courses for credit at their partner school, we have also made it possible for members of each school to make use of the other's library as well. Furthermore, the exchange of academic units at the undergraduate level started in AY2010.

Agreement with Five International Universities

August 2012, ICU entered a cooperative agreement with four other Japanese universities. The agreement is called the "Global 5" (G5) agreement and was entered into by Akita International University, Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, Sophia University, Waseda University and ICU.

With the ultimate goal of further promoting the globalization of higher education in Japan, the agreement's aims are teaching methodologies that cultivate superlative global citizens, sharing of information about student support systems, joint degree programs, and joint operation of faculty/staff development programs.

*This agreement represents an earlier agreement between ICU, Akita International University, Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University and Waseda University that was entered into in April 2010, to which Sophia University, with its longstanding commitment to international education, also joined. The addition of Sophia University was taken as an opportunity for all five schools to renew their agreement for mutual cooperation.

• School of International Liberal Studies, Waseda University
• Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University
• Sophia University
• Akita International University

Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology

ICU and the Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology developed an agreement that aims to promote further developments at both schools, including broad-reaching cooperation in education and research and the more penetrating communication of research achievements. TUAT is especially strong in education and research in agriculture, technology and areas where these two fields overlap. The two universities are separated by no more than five kilometers and are conducting faculty and student exchange in areas of education and research.

Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST)

On August 2014, ICU concluded an agreement regarding admission based upon recommendation with Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST, Nomi City, Ishikawa Prefecture). JAIST is a graduate university (without an undergraduate division) that boasts cutting edge research and an excellent research environment (research facilities, support staff) along with a hierarchical and international specialized education system. It has already concluded an education and research partnership agreement with ICU and promoted academic exchange, such as the establishment of partnership courses. However, going forward, in order to strengthen the partnership that harnesses the strengths of both universities, the two concluded an agreement regarding admission based upon recommendation. As a result, JAIST will admit excellent ICU undergraduate students.

Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST)

On March 2016, ICU concluded a Comprehensive Cooperation Agreement for promoting cooperation and collaboration with the Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST, Ikoma City, Nara) to promote the fostering of global human resources. This Basic Agreement is expected to pave the way for various educational cooperation activities including, development of curriculums incorporating lectures from the other party, internship-based student exchange and other educational cooperation, joint holding of symposiums and workshops, joint researches and development into educational activities.

University of Tsukuba

ICU concluded an Inter-University Cooperation Agreement with the University of Tsukuba (Tsukuba City, Ibaraki). This Agreement is positioned as a "Campus-with-Campus" agreement which aims to promote the sharing of campus functions between the two institutions to offer education actively utilizing research and education resources of each other, and in doing so, increase mobility of students and faculty, carry out efforts to enhance research and education capabilities on a reciprocal basis, and promote trans-border cooperation.